Indoor Gardening

I saw this crazy gorgeous bromeliad recently at the Berkeley Horicultural Nursery and “had to have it” as they say. I paired it with a bright red pot. Daring, no?

My kitchen bromeliad

As if the bold striped leaves and tall stalk with bright red bloom aren’t enough, this bromeliad surprised me a couple of weeks later when yellow bits started poking out of the red part.

Blooming bromeliads, Batman!

Also adorning my kitchen are a couple of beloved Tillandsias, which live happily in egg cups on a shelf by the window carefully guarded by the cockatoo.

Kitchen Tillandsias

I so enjoy Tillandsias! I’ve had several over the years and am always happy when they bloom. The flowers are so delicate and special. Of course, even without blooms, they are fabulous. I have a couple of air plants in my office at work. In addition to being beautiful, they also serve as decorative little conversation starters. Co-workers tend to ask things like, “WHAT is that?”…Or more recently, I got a simple, “Why do you have air plants in here?” I had to say, Explain. She goes, “Well, they’re just so weird!” Yep. Sometimes that’s enough to get me through the work day.

Office Tillandsia

Oh, one more bromeliad I love is what I always called Princess’ Tears. I just learned from Loree at danger garden that this bromeliad is a Billbergia nutans. (I tend to have plants for years without knowing the proper names.) I did a little research (aka Google) and learned that some other names for her are Queen’s Tears, Friendship Plant, and Angel Tears. I keep mine on the back patio.

Billbergia nutans in February 2010

The blooms started opening up in March.

This Friendship Plant's hanging blooms are starting to pop

Blooming Queen's Tears March 2010

I only got one stalk of blooms this year. I think I’ll try my hand at dividing this plant to see if I can get more blooms next time!

2 responses to this post.

  1. I love your container choice for the first Bromeliad….hot! And your story about the office conversations. I think we could have a lot of fun if we worked in the same office!

    As for the Princess’ Tears pictures….I have that same planter AND the same Royal Copley vase…and others, are you a collector? Love them…but it’s been a long time since I added to my collection.

    Thanks for the link!

    Reply

  2. Dear fellow Royal Copley collector,
    Yes! I love these vintage vases. I especially like finding them for $5…$10 tops! But sometimes I see them around for a lot more. I have collected about 10 so far over the years. Also love vintage pottery and planters…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

